The crime of human trafficking is constantly transforming and evolving. The general frameworks used for identifying victims have not evolved at the same pace, and struggles to stay relevant.

Less than 1 in 500 victims of trafficking in human beings globally are ever identified. Child victims of trafficking for sexual exploitation face particular challenges in being recognized and identified as victims of these heinous crimes. Globally 27 % of victims are children, and two out of every three child victims are girls.

Outdated and inefficient indicators, lack of cross-border harmonization and solutions to identify victims online all contribute to the staggering number of unidentified child victims. There is also an urgent need to include a social path to identification. By allowing social protection agencies, civil society and other relevant actors the authority to formally identify victims and use all existing protection mechanisms, they can be helped to fully recover. This reduces the pressure on victims to prove their trafficking situations and provides unconditional access to assistance and protection. The process must include sufficient inclusion of and adoption to those with lived experience of the exploitation.

For this reason, ChildX has chosen to focus on this topic during 2024. Under the theme: “The unidentified child victims – removing the barriers” we are now searching for the most effective methods to improve the identification framework for child victims of trafficking and sexual exploitation. This can include the development of more effective indicators, more child-friendly procedures, effective and systematic training of first responders, methods for in person or online outreach, the creation of safe spaces for child victims and children at risk, effective standard operating procedures, referral mechanisms or other systems that have led to improving the identification of child victims or children at risk.

We are now inviting you to nominate candidates for the ChildX 2024 Award. The last day for nominations is November 30. All nominations will be reviewed by a selection committee under the following criterias:

  1. The candidate(s) has developed or otherwise acquired, scaled or implemented an effective method to identify child victims of trafficking and sexual exploitation and/or children at risk
  2. The candidate(s) has demonstrated a strong commitment to ensuring survivor inclusion in their anti-trafficking work
  3. The candidate(s) has a strong human rights based approach where children are seen as carriers of their own rights in accordance with the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child

Submit your nomination

Information in Swedish


Every other year ChildX selects a specific theme. The chosen theme focuses on a key challenge identified through the context of our work that may for example be widely underreported or particularly vulnerable for deficiencies in the child protection system, or specifically challenging for organizations working on the ground.

The selection process consists of an open nomination process open for the public where individuals and organizations can nominate. The process also includes in-depth desk research and interviews by the ChildX team. In the ongoing search, thorough due diligence is conducted to evaluate the quality, sustainability and impact of the nominations.

The criteria for the selection of organizations are both individual for every candidate but also complementary to create a group of 10 that will benefits from each others experiences. For all organizations, an investigation is made of the organization’s:

  • Finances and financial reporting
  • Child rights based approach
  • Procedures and protocols to prevent child abuse
  • The general aims and goals and impact of the work
  • Preventive work to reduce the risk of negative consequences of the actions implemented (so-called “Do no harm” principle)

The analysis of the organization, together with a description and assessment of the organisation’s operational work, is presented to the selection committee, which then decides which 10 organizations will receive support during the next year.